Sydney Cook is Named to the All-SSC Volleyball Second Team

Sydney Cook is Named to the All-SSC Volleyball Second Team

Women's Volleyball

Bookmark and Share
FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – For the third straight year, outside hitter Sydney Cook (Jr., Miami, Fla.) has been named to the All-Sunshine State Conference Second Team, as announced by the conference office.

In her junior year, Cook has notched a team-high 318 kills (avg. 3.08 per set), good for third in the SSC. She also is second in digs on the Sharks with 284 (avg. 2.76 per set), ranking 13th in the SSC while leading the team in blocks with 96 (avg. .93 per set), sitting fifth in the SSC.

Cook has marked her legacy in NSU volleyball' all-time record book. After garnering 942 kills this season, she ranks ninth in program history in kills while moving up three spots from last year in total career points with 1133.5. She has recorded 96 career blocks.

Cook has led the team in kills each year with the squad (317 as a freshman, 307 as a sophomore and 318 as junior). In this season's match against New Haven (9/06/14), she marked her career-high of 20 kills in a single-match.

Below is the 2014 All-Sunshine State Conference Volleyball Team in its entirety:

Player of the Year: Berkley Whaley, Tampa
Freshman of the Year: Shannon McDonough, Rollins
Newcomer of the Year: Shannon McDonough, Rollins
Coach of the Year: Chris Catanach, Tampa
 Berkley Whaley, Tampa (Jr., OH)
Ali Skayhan, Florida Southern (Sr., S)
Jessica Wagner, Tampa (Jr., M)
Alexa Griffith-Hardy, Saint Leo (Sr., RS)
Kahley Patrick, Tampa (Sr., S)
Marissa Lisenbee, Tampa (Jr., RS)
Kate Stromberg, Tampa (Sr., OH)
Yadimar Santiago, Saint Leo (Sr., L)
Catherine Brusie, Florida Southern (Sr., L)
Kayshia Brady, Florida Southern (Jr., M)
Meagan Burke, Tampa (Sr., M)
Elyse Fleck, Lynn (Sr., RS)
Jessica Wilson, Rollins (Sr., MB)
Tashalyn Begon, Barry (Jr., OH)
Sydney Cook, Nova Southeastern (Jr., Opp)
Ali McAlvany, Eckerd (Sr., OH)
Shannon McDonough, Rollins (Fr., OH/RS)
Lauryn Nelson, Eckerd (Fr., RS)
Anna Tovo, Florida Southern (Fr., OH)
Lydia West, Lynn (R-Fr., MB)
Kaitlyn Sibson, Eckerd (Fr., L)
Collyn Welsch, Rollins (Sr., L)
Print Friendly Version